Posted by: Rosebud | April 12, 2009

A “World Wide Secular Religion”

 

 Okay, how can I get past the oxymoron of a “secular religion” to discuss any of the issues in the article? 

Well known proponent of secularism published this long article about a prominent proponent of secularism, quote below the link.

http://www.nytimes.com/2009/03/29/magazine/29Dyson-t.html?pagewanted=1&_r=3&hp

Freeman Dyson

Freeman Dyson

>>Speaking at the Frederick S. Pardee Center for the Study of the Longer-Range Future at Boston University, Dyson announced that “all the fuss about global warming is grossly exaggerated.” Since then he has only heated up his misgivings, declaring in a 2007 interview with Salon.com that “the fact that the climate is getting warmer doesn’t scare me at all” and writing in an essay for The New York Review of Books, the left-leaning publication that is to gravitas what the Beagle was to Darwin, that climate change has become an “obsession” — the primary article of faith for “a worldwide secular religion” known as environmentalism.<<

“Secular Religion”…can’t get past that idea.  And yet, that is what is happening world-wide.  I grew up trying to make Christianity ‘secular’ so I could live it.  I thought by reading the Bible and listening to my Bible teachers and going to church multiple times a week that I would somehow resolve the obvious dilemma and the ultimate question.

Obvious Dilemma: I know there is a God, and I know that I don’t ‘know’ Him.

The Ultimate Question: What will happen to me after I die?

Unfortunately, solutions to the OD aren’t going to come out of left brain data-collection.  Nor are they going to be generated by right brain machinations.

Same with the UQ, there is no data that can be gathered, and there is no emotion that can be generated that provides resolution.

Of course, the data is there and can be collected, and of course objects and ideas for emotive energies are available as well.  The confidence that the OD has been resolved and the UQ answered come from a change in the soul.  A change both incredibily difficult and yet amazingly simple to describe.  Emotionally, Jesus healed my spiritual side. Rationally, I’ve established contact with God (through Jesus).

It all hinges on Jesus’ death on the cross and then His ressurrection.  Incredibly difficult concept for me to “understand.” 

The UD is the result of knowing (both rationally and emotionally) that I am not perfect, I do not just bad, but evil things.  I do them because they are inside of me.  The dilemma comes in because it is obvious through both rational and emotional observations that there is indeed a Creator God that is the embodiment of goodness, and I have no contact with Him. The simple religious summary of that idea is: “My sin separates me from God.”

The UQ is the very next thought that comes after the UD.  So, if I have no contact with the Creator God who is the embodiment of goodness now while I’m alive, will I have contact with Him after I die?  For me there was no answer to that question, just a vacant silence, gathered from rational or emotional observations.  A vacant silence that rings with the hollow emptyness of a bottomless pit.  Which by default is a “No” answer. 

The UD and UQ can probably be accommodated with enough distractions, diversions, and dilusions for a person to deceive themselves into having a happy life.  I suspect it requires a regular, if not daily, recitation of the mantra: “I’m doing well, I have a good life,  I [insert list of accomplishments and possessions].” 

OR, you can resolve the UD and answer the UQ through the one and only Savior of the world.  An individual that rationally established His divinity through fullfillment of prophecy and emotionally proved it with the performance of miracles.  An individual that fully laid-out the recipie for establishing contact with God and resolving the UD.  An individual that rose above petty religous quarrels and political arguements to deliver a message from the Creator God that He loves us and wants to know us and will send help to us.  An Individual that smashed all religous conventions by ultimately proving He was divine by rising from the dead. 

The resolution of the Ultimate Dilemma and the answer to the Ultimate Question, the Son of God, the Lord Jesus Christ.

member_emptycross_50152538_std

Leave a Reply

Categories

